961 Broadway, Suite 115
Woodmere, NY 11598

(516) 268-7077

Blog

Under what conditions are interim protection orders issued for victims of domestic violence

More recently, victims of domestic violence may demand a provisional order from the cops, without waiting for an ordinary one, approved by the judge. The interim protection order model and its instructions have been officialized recently. The policeman comes to the scene, puts the victim of domestic violence to answer certain questions and to make a statement, and will appreciate, based on a scale, if there really is a risk that the life or physical integrity of the victim may be jeopardized.

In order to give an interim protection order, the policeman will first use a risk assessment form. In this form, there are several questions that the victim should answer and, depending on the answers (tick the appropriate boxes for yes / no), but also with his / her findings, the policeman determines whether or not the provisional order is required.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

sidebar image

Rubinstein Law Firm

The Rubinstein Law Firm proudly serves all of New York for divorce and other state matters and the whole country on intellectual property related matters.

FAQ’s

  • What grounds do I need to file for divorce?
    • New York is a no-fault jurisdiction which means the most commonly cited cause is IRRETRIEVABLE BREAKDOWN IN RELATIONSHIP. So, for example, if your spouse had adultery, it is not really relevant to the actual divorce grounds.
  • Do I file a contested divorce or an uncontested divorce?
    • Uncontested means both parties agree to sign a settlement outside of court and are relatively close in terms of what they want in the terms.
  • How much does the divorce process cost?
    • Uncontested divorces are considerably cheaper, the range is between $1,000-$3,000 depending on complexity. For a contested divorce, it will depend on how willing the spouses are to work together, if so, it can cost as little as $7,000 but if there is excessive fighting the divorce can last years and the sky is the limit.
  • How long before I am officially divorced?
    • Fortunately, NY is not a state that requires a separation period. So as long as you and your spouse have been married for at least 6 months and are an NY resident, you can begin the process immediately. If the divorce is not contested it can be completed in as fast as two months and may take as long as eight months. If the divorce is contested and the parties find it challenging to agree, divorce can go on for many years.

Request A Consultation